In honour and memory of Beau Miller, the Devon Meadows Football Netball Club launched CLUB 31 in 2018.

On May 4th, 2016, just 4 weeks after playing what would be his last game, Beau was diagnosed with stage 4 melanoma.  Just 10 weeks later, Beau would lose his brave and courageous fight against cancer. Beau was a much loved husband, a devoted father, a passionate and dedicated footballer, a champion both on and off the field. These characteristics are values that we hold so strong at the Devon Meadows Netball Football Club and it is hoped that members of Club 31 share that same passion and desire for success that Beau possessed not only for our football club, but in life.

Beau’s history with the Devon Meadows Football Club started as a 7-year old where through the years he constantly lead by example and raise the bar higher and higher for those around him. After a 3rd in the senior club best and fairest in 2002 and an elimination final defeat, Beau left to further himself at VFL level, where he made an immediate impact following his first two years of senior football. In this time Beau had achieved countless individual and team awards, but it was the person he was that enabled life time friendships to form that will last the test of time.

His return to the Meadows was always intended and in 2014 the long-anticipated return became reality when he chose to finish his career where it all started. A runner-up best and fairest in 2015, Beau was on the cusp of returning Devon Meadows to finals footy, a place the senior side haven’t been since he left in 2002.

Why 31? The number 31 is symbolic because this is the number Beau would wear in his final seasons of his decorated career.

In 2018, we launched an annual award, the Beau Miller Most Determined trophy to be given to the player exhibiting the qualities that Beau displayed throughout his career and in his life.  In addition to a trophy the winner can elect to wear the number 31 jumper in the following season.

In 2019 we expanded Club 31 to have Gold & Silver packages.  These are both available again in 2020 and can be found by going to our ‘Join Us’ page on this website.

Below is the proud winners of the Beau Miller Most Determined Award.

2016Patty Boland
2017Locky Burke
2018Gav Kerr
2019Riley Thorpe